All you need to know about halal skin care

Distinguishing halal ingredient seems to be a little hassle. We are here to simplify the whole phenomena of halal skin care for you.

You may know that Usually alcohol and pig fat is prohibited for Muslims, which is a commonly found ingredient of usual skin care products. So skincare ingredient that contains ingredients that are not permitted by Islamic law.

But there are more to the story! So let’s get started with the process.

The concept of halal or haram?

Halal is the word for lawful or permitted according to the Quran and Islamic law, and that applies to everything a Muslim does. Things that are allowed for Muslims to use is called halal. On the other hand, haram is unlawful or prohibited things for Muslims. Muslims try to avoid haram things to abide by the law of God. It is why they distinguish between halal and haram.

What is considered as haram products for Muslims?

Skin care products  with Animal-derived ingredients

According to the scholars of Islam, Muslims cannot use any animal-derived product. Animal-derived products are prohibited as the animal may not have been slaughtered in the Islamic way. In halal products, there cannot be any human parts as well. Pig fat or any other parts of the pig cannot be in a halal product.

If it contains any animal part or dead animal, then it is haram. Even if it is carmine, vanilla extract or squalene, these all come from the animal-derived product but in a very small amount that some people does not consider it as animal derived. But for Muslims, it’s a must to look for every single detail.

Skin care products  with Alcohol

Alcohol is also something that should not be used or found in a Muslim’s skin care product. All kinds of ethanol and ethyl alcohol, ethylene, and methylated spirits are haram ingredients. It is because Alcohol gets soaked by our skin and enters the blood stem.

Getting in touch with haram ingredients

Another crucial matter is that halal product should not get in touch with haram mixtures. Even the processing and manufacturing should not be in contact with any haram utensils or materials. It should not also harm the customers in any sense. If skincare products do any harm to the skin or alter the skin, then it’s not halal.

Some miscellaneous ingredients

Glycerin can be derived from animal or a vegetable source. So try to look for the source of that glycerin. Oleic acid is also something that can be collected from animal fat or coconut and palm oil. So make sure you check for the halal certification. If you buy a product that got a halal certification, then you can use all those without tension.

How to determine Whether it is halal Skincare products?

If the skin care product does not contain the products listed, they can be safely considered halal. For this, you need to be sure that there are no haram ingredients used in it. Sometimes, lab testing might be required, but a halal certification can also be a good indicator of whether the skincare product you are using can be considered halal.

Is it only applicable to Muslims?

Halal products are just like vegan products. These products do not contain any harmful or animal-derived ingredients. So as much as you love your vegan and cruelty-free products, you will love the halal products too. Sometimes these skin care regime works better than others for being entirely organic and raw.

If there is no halal skincare product in the area you live

Sometimes it is hard to get products that are from any reputed halal brands. For those times go for hundred percent vegan and cruelty-free halal skin care. There are so many brands coming up with the halal trend. Animal cruelty is now talk of the town. So if the product assures that they are vegan and cruelty-free go for it. But make sure those do not contain pseudo-vegan ingredients like casein, carmine, and stearic acid.